

May 25, 2012

Senator Martin Sandoval **118 Capitol Building** Springfield, IL 62706

Representative Dan Burke 233-E Stratton Office Building Springfield, IL 62706

Dear Senator Sandoval and Representative Burke:

The Metropolitan Planning Council (MPC) supports Senate Bill 2861 which would create an escrow account for the purposes of funding inter-city passenger rail maintenance. Specifically, funds in the escrow account could only be withdrawn pursuant to an annually updated high-speed rail line maintenance plan.

Too often, governments invest only in the present, making needed capital infrastructure investments without taking into account the long-term maintenance costs. As a result, twenty years down the road we're left with crumbling infrastructure and no money to rebuild it. As Illinois moves forward on the construction of high-speed rail, a highly capital intensive project, transportation leaders must plan for future maintenance costs so as not to squander the upfront investment.

Illinois has decided that high-speed rail is a worthwhile investment, a choice MPC applauds. Illinois economic recovery depends on wise investments in our transportation network. Aside from the benefits of the higher speed passenger rail service, enhanced stations will spur new economic and community development, triggering private investment, revitalizing business, diversifying the local tax base, and creating jobs.

Job number one is to maintain our infrastructure. SB 2861 represents a smart plan to address life-cycle costs and ongoing maintenance of high-speed rail, ensuring the original capital investment continues to attract riders and grow the economy.

Thank you for your leadership.

Sincerely,

N= My

Peter Skosev Vice President

cc: Speaker Madigan **President Cullerton** Leader Cross Leader Radogno Tim Mapes

140 South Dearborn Suite 1400 Chicago, Illinois 60603

P 312 922 5616 F 312 922 5619 metroplanning.org Board of Governors King Harris • Chair

Joseph A. Gregoire •

Vice Chair lesse H. Ruiz • Vice Chair

Paul C. Carlisle •

Vice Chair-Development

James P. Stirling • Vice Chair-Development

Ellen M. Costello Kathy Hopinkah Hannan • BMO Financial Corp Secretary

Lisa Snow • Treasurer

Colin Dver John M. McDonough •

PNC

Executive Advisors

Blue Cross Blue Shield

Veolia Water Americas

Karen Atwood

Laurent Auguste

Raymond Bachant Bombardier Transportation

Lawrence T. Borgard

Integrys Energy Group

Craig J. Duchossois

Jones Lang LaSalle

Mitchell S. Feiger

MB Financial Bank, Inc.

Joseph A. Gregoire

Stephen J. Hagge

The Duchossois Group, Inc.

of Illinois

General Counsel Lee M. Mitchell •

Past Chair Rita R. Athas John W. Baird Lawrence T. Borgard Byron Brazier Carole L. Brown Todd C. Brown • John A. Buck Christopher B. Burke Nora Moreno Cargie Ellen Carnahan Pedro J. Cevallos-Candau Lester Crown Jon B. DeVries Sidney R. Dillard Ann M. Drake • Robert V. Fitzsimmons • lames C Franczek Ir • John S. Gates, Jr. Joseph A. Gonzalez Linda Goodman Jacques N. Gordon, Ph.D. . Aon Corporation M. Hill Hammock • David Hiller Lawrence Howe Bernard Loyd Mary K. Ludgin Peter C. Malecek James E. Mann • Gregory T. Mutz Paul E. Nowicki Robert T. O'Brien J. Scot Pepper • Stephen M. Porras Anne R. Pramaggiore Ouintin E. Primo, III Jorge Ramirez George A. Ranney, Jr. • Douglas P. Regan Matthew R. Reilein Kevin C. Richardson Jean Rudd Martin Stern Bruce W. Taylor

Mary White Vasys Paula Wolff •

President MarvSue Barrett •

Jimmy Staton NIPSCO (NiSource)

Illinois Tool Works Inc.

Robert Sullivan Fifth Third Bank

Frederick H. Waddell Northern Trust

Edward J. Wehmer Wintrust Financial Corporation

Executive Committee •

AptarGroup, Inc. Edward R. Hamberger Association of American Railroads

> Kathy Hopinkah Hannan KPMG IIP

Fric Hirschfield Goldman Sachs

Frederick A Krehhiel Molex Incorporated

Matthew C Levin

Raymond J. Lewis Ventas, Inc.

Timothy Maloney Bank of America

David J. Neithercut Equity Residential

Robert L. Parkinson, Jr. Baxter International Inc.

J. Marshall Peck InterPark Holdings, Inc.

Thomas Pontarelli CNA

Larry D. Richman The PrivateBank

John W. Rowe Exelon

David B. Speer